What are the types of Portland Cement?

portland cement

Portland cement is the primary ingredient in concrete. It is produced by burning a mixture of lime and clay in a rotary kiln and grinding the resulting mass.

ASTM C-150 describes 5 classifications of portland cement

  1. Type 1: Normal portland cement
  2. Type 2: Modified portland cement
  3. Type 3: High-early strength portland cement
  4. Type 4: Low-heat portland cement
  5. Type 5: Sulfate-resistant portland cement

Type 1: Normal Portland Cement

This is the standard if there are no extreme conditions that justify the use of other products.

Type 2: Modified Portland Cement

Since the heat rate and total heat generation are lower than that of normal portland cement, this option can be used in hot weather or where there is a large, continuous concrete pour.

Type 3: High-early Strength Portland Cement

As the name suggests, this type will develop strength quickly. If a structure must be put into early use or when protection against cold temperatures is important, this will be a good option.

Type 4: Low-heat Portland Cement

When the concrete pour is large and the heat of hydration is prohibitive, you can use low heat portland cement. It will produce less heat but develops strength slower as well.

Type 5: Sulfate-resistant Portland Cement

This type of cement is primarily used for underground structures or concrete that will be exposed to soil. It will have a high resistance to highly alkaline soils.

Speak Your Mind